New hardware from AmigaKit (FPU for A1200)

General talk forum.
Post Reply
Iarla
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 11:23 am

New hardware from AmigaKit (FPU for A1200)

Post by Iarla » Sat Feb 08, 2020 6:44 pm

I just saw in Dan Wood's video of Amiga Ireland 2020 that AmigaKit will have new expansion cards for the A1200 which have 8MB RAM and a socket for FPU. Would this make Lightwave usable on the A1200?

I have an ACA1221 which gives me @28MHz and 64MB RAM so I think I have to downgrade other things to get the FPU :~) https://youtu.be/Py4j8GZSOtI?t=251

walkero
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2019 6:07 pm

Re: New hardware from AmigaKit (FPU for A1200)

Post by walkero » Sun Feb 09, 2020 11:28 am

I think that would make A1200 usable for LW 5, since there is FPU, but you are going to lose a lot of memory. With that expansion you are going to get more speed than a stock amiga, because of the extra memory and it's speed.

In my opinion this expansion targets mostly WHDload users.

User avatar
muadib
Site Admin
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2018 7:26 pm

Re: New hardware from AmigaKit (FPU for A1200)

Post by muadib » Sun Feb 09, 2020 12:44 pm

walkero wrote:
Sun Feb 09, 2020 11:28 am
I think that would make A1200 usable for LW 5, since there is FPU, but you are going to lose a lot of memory. With that expansion you are going to get more speed than a stock amiga, because of the extra memory and it's speed.

In my opinion this expansion targets mostly WHDload users.
+1

Also, a 030+882@50MHz is kind of slow as it is with Lightwave already IMO, so a 020 would be struggling to render anything but simple scenes in Low Res .
- muadib

Iarla
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 11:23 am

Re: New hardware from AmigaKit (FPU for A1200)

Post by Iarla » Sun Feb 09, 2020 6:20 pm

Thanks walkero & muadib. I need to be more ambitious then :) I could of course emulate, for the time being.

Post Reply